Is there any point to life?

The way in which this question is phrased already appears sceptical that there is any point to life at all.  Indeed, there is no certain point to life as in reality no one person is heading towards the exact same goal as another. I would argue that there are many points to life and that there isn’t a sole purpose for anyone.

I have been told on many occasions that life is ‘what you make of it’. This comment, along with being taught that ‘everything happens for a reason’, has always slightly irritated me. When something bad happens in your life that is out of your control, with no apparent ‘reason’ for it, you are expected to accept it as a cruel twist of fate that was somehow meant to positively impact on your life in the long run. Some people believe that we are all insignificant as one day we will all eventually die. Others believe that we are born sinners and should spend our lives purifying our tainted souls. Although I am a baptised Protestant I do not consider myself a religious person. I gave up going to church after the age of ten and pretty much sat on the fence with anything to do with religion in the time after. However, over the summer I was introduced to a book written by Neale Donald Walsch, recording what he believed to be a conversation he had with God. Regardless of my own scepticism I read what he believed were questions he had put directly to, and had answered by, God. Walsch asks many questions to do with life, such as its purpose, guarantees and frustrations to why life hadn’t gone the way he wanted.

Among the answers was the idea that ‘the deepest secret is that life is not a process of discovery, but of creation’. In other words, we create our own experiences and outcomes. The book plays with the idea that we only discover what we already know, therefore the best way to live your life is to subject yourself to as many different experiences as you can. I had no problem agreeing with this point as I believe that the point to life is to experience it, good and bad. Therefore, there are many points to life as there are countless possibilities. Walsch also covers the aspect of unconscious living – that is to simply drift along allowing things to happen to you. I am sure we have all been guilty of blaming our misfortunes on others and bad things do happen to good people, but then again, good things happen to them too?

I honestly believe that this book did change my outlook on life, as I now have a better understanding of why people say that life is what you make of it. Everyone is, on some level, in control of his or her life. If you are not happy then you usually have the power to change it.

Below I have posted a video from this year’s United Nations World Humanitarian Day. Many people (including my friends) find it hilarious that Beyoncé is an inspiration to me but after queuing for hours to see her at Glastonbury in 2011 I can honestly say that I wouldn’t have waited so long in a glorified mud pit to listen to many other people. I believe that this song represents every positive way to look at life and it inspires me to be less negative about the world.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About brackenstockley

Contributor to the JusticeGap and WINOL. Currently studying journalism at the University of Winchester (Year Three).
This entry was posted in History and Context (Western Philosophy). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

