WINOL: Bulletin Debrief 12.02.14

Bulletin:

Guest Editor: Sam Homewood, former journalism graduate from Winchester working as a children’s TV presenter for ITV.

Feedback:

  • Flooding was the strongest package this week – great in studio chat with reporter, Megan Fisher.
  • The headline: “No Floody Good” was not appropriate for our style of bulletin – more careful work on scripting.
  • Sound quality not as strong as previous week.
  • Better framing needed in interviews.
  • White balance needs to be improved in packages.
  • Never include bad shots at the beginning of a package.
  • Jump cuts banned.
  • Empty news board meant a lack of stories.
  • More use of graphics to liven up the bulletin.
  • No Sports this week due to weather – must use more initiative to find other (inside) sports, unacceptable to have nothing.
  • Nice ‘AND FINALLY’ – Valentines Day Special – courtesy of the Features team.

My Package:

Personal Evaluation:

My story this week reflected news from the COMPASS meeting that every single front line uniform officer will wear body worn video. The Chief Constable said that he believed that Hampshire will be the first police force nationally where all officers use these cameras.

It was great to cover a national story although my package this week was not very strong in terms of sequences as many of my cutaways were Archive footage. I managed to get hold of a picture of the actual camera from the police which was useful and helped with my scripting to better explain the story. I chose not to use a PTC as my package was very short although my voice was still very unbalanced over the pictures – however it was an improvement on my first week.

Angus Scott said that he would liked to have seen my package higher up on the news agenda as it included the Chief Constable, however it was not breaking news so other stories took priority.

 

About brackenstockley

Contributor to the JusticeGap and WINOL. Currently studying journalism at the University of Winchester (Year Three).
This entry was posted in WINOL: Bulletin. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment