WINOL: Bulletin Debrief 26.02.14

Bulletin:

Guest Editor: Rowenna Davis, Labour Parliamentary candidate for Southampton Itchen in the 2015 General Election. Davis worked as a freelance journalist for six years writing about social and economic affairs for publications such as the Guardian, Financial Times and the Independent.

Feedback:

  • Visually, dynamic and exciting
  • Bulletins sustained interest with lots of texture and colour.
  • Possibly too many animals this week – too ‘fluffy’.
  • There needs to be more clarity between stories and more concise scripting.
  • More community voices need to be used in packages for human interest.
  • Get more involved with the community and knock on doors.
  • Nice graphics and variety of stories.
  • Strong headlines and match reports in Sport.
  • Interesting PTCs.

My Package:

Personal Evaluation: 

This week I produced my first court report surrounding a triple conviction for dangerous driving, assault and perverting the course of justice. I am pleased I had the chance to gain this experience although I do not think that my best abilities lie with court reporting as my shorthand isn’t very strong and I struggled with finding pictures. I was unable to get a photo of the convicted man as the judge granted a two year suspended sentence and the police were hesitant to send me one as I was not considered a qualified journalist. Despite this I am happy with framing and focus of the filming however I had a problem with my gunmic and the sound wasn’t up to scratch.

About brackenstockley

Contributor to the JusticeGap and WINOL. Currently studying journalism at the University of Winchester (Year Three).
This entry was posted in WINOL: Bulletin. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

